Delaware, New Hampshire, and Maine last week separately passed measures to continue participation in the Regional Greenhouse Gas Initiative (RGGI), a regional cap-and-trade program that seeks to reduce greenhouse gas emissions. 

In New Hampshire, the state Senate last week voted 16-8 to keep the state in RGGI, though it approved amendments that could change how the state allocates program funds or withdraw from the partnership if another RGGI state that represents 10% of the initiative’s total electric load withdraws. As New Hampshire Public Radio reported on Tuesday, Republican leaders will continue to push for the House’s previously approved elimination of New Hampshire’s participation in the program, however. 

Last week, meanwhile, Maine’s joint standing Energy, Utilities, and Technology Committee rejected a bill, LD 793, that would have withdrawn the state from RGGI. The committee passed an amendment that would withdraw state participation in the program if a majority of participants also withdraw. 

Delaware’s House Energy Committee also voted to table a measure that could end the state’s participation in the regional program. The action means that the committee will not release the bill for discussion by the full House. 

Ten states continue to participate in the initiative: Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Rhode Island, and Vermont. The system affects fossil fueled–power plants that have a capacity of 25 MW of more. 

Sources: POWERnews, New Hampshire Public Radio, Bloomberg Businessweek